June report

After we got the KWh meter installed, figuring out the driving costs of the LEAF is so much easier. The charging station consumed 187.6 KWh during the month of June. We’re paying 12.39 cents per KWH (6.5 cents plus delivery and taxes), for a grand total of $23.24. How much did we drive in June, with $23.24? A “mere” 1,512 Km!

That’s $1.53 per 100 Km. At current gas prices, that’s equivalent to having a gas mileage of 1.3 L per 100 Km, or 181 MPG.

Granted, I did some trickle charging at work, so these costs don’t include the incentive my employer gives me for driving an electric vehicle. We don’t have a KWh meter at work so I can only estimate how much difference that made. I’ve been fairly consistent in the way I trickle charge: I leave home with an 80% charge, drive 16.9 Km to work, then trickle charge to 80% again. There were 21 working days in June, so if I take those Km out of the equation I end up with $1.99 per 100 Km, which is still fairly decent “milage” (1.7 L per 100 Km, or 138 MPG). This is also very very close to the 2 cents per Km costs many people estimate.

So in essence, my employer pays for half of my commute. Some people raise an eyebrow when I say that, as if I were “stealing” electricity from my employer, but once they realize the costs involved, they laugh. It’s easy to figure: 16.9 Km times 2 cents per Km, that’s 34 cents per day. So that’s how much my employer pays for half of my commute: about a Tim Horton’s coffee a week! 🙂

Update: Darren Robichaud from Ottawa pointed out the off-peak electricity we pay is actually lower than the one I used (11.58 cents, not 12.39). He sent me the detailed calculations based on all the charges, adjustments and discounts. So my numbers were off by 7%. Here the correct ones:

– 1,512 Km driven with $21.93 ($1.45 per 100 Km, equivalent to 1.24 L/100 Km, or 189 MPG)

– Discounting the trickle charging at work = $1.88 per 100 Km, equivalent to 1.6 L/100 Km, or 147 MPG.

Thanks, Darren!

2 comments on “June report

  1. Good information! I think most future EV owners will still have no idea what a kWh is, or why it matters. I like how you compare it to gasoline prices. We just received our Leaf about two weeks ago, and although it’s a lease with a 15000 mile yearly allowance, we drive it like crazy! What a fun car to own. We are blogging at kyleaf.com, please check us out. Our wordpress blog is at http://kyleaf.com/wp/

Leave a Reply

