You’re buying gas to warm up the hood of your car

Electric vehicles convert up to 62% of the electrical energy from the grid to power at the wheels. Very little is wasted as heat. I took this picture after a one hour drive during a snow storm here in Ottawa. The snow that fell on the hood didn’t melt. It looks like I was just park outside.

Most people don’t realize this but about 80% of the money you spend on gas is actually lost/wasted by your car engine. Internal combustion engines are very inefficient at converting the fuel’s chemical energy to mechanical energy, losing most of it to engine friction, pumping air into and out of the engine, and wasted heat. You’re basically buying gas to warm up the hood of your car.

Source: http://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/evtech.shtml

9 comments on “You’re buying gas to warm up the hood of your car

  1. Hi there my name Ruperto, my wife and I recently lease a 2012 Nissan Leaf SL trim. I was just wondering if the automatic door on the driver side goes up up automatically on your leaf. Also without the GPS sd card does the horn work? Or the car even safe to drive.

    Thanks,

    Ruperto

    • Hi Ruperto,

      The driver side window goes down automatically, but doesn’t roll up automatically. I would imagine this is for safety.

      I never took the navigation SD card so I don’t know, but I would guess it has nothing to do with the horn. From what I read on the MNL forum, navigation, bluetooth and even the radio won’t work if the SD card is out. The link to the discussion is here: http://www.mynissanleaf.com/viewtopic.php?f=30&t=10146

      Cheers,

      Ricardo

  2. Hi Ricardo. I have a 2011 US Leaf operating in Canada and am told I cannot get Carwings here. Have you heard of this problem?

    Mike L

  3. I never thought that all that heat was being wasted on the hood. I’ve been looking into electric cars and the Leaf seems to work well in our harsh Canadian winters. Thanks for all of your helpful information.

Leave a Reply

